July 2016

Inter House English Recitation (V-VIII) - 2016

Inter House English Recitation competition for the year 2016-17 was held on 15th July 2016. The competition was conducted for two categories, the junior category having participants from grade V & VI and the senior category having participants from grade VII & VIII. Teachers in charge were Sindhu Sudhir, Jagruti Joshi and Suman Deswal. Judges for junior category were  Ajay Nair & Shilpa Thakkar and for senior category were Vidhi Trivedi & Aishwarya Patel. Scorers were Bindu Raphael and Shila Singh.

Inter School Recitation 'Poems Outloud' - 2016

JGIS organized ‘Poems Out Loud-2016-17’ – Inter-school Poetry Recitation Competition on 22nd July, 2016. 25 reputed schools participated in this competition.
The competition was held in three categories: (a) Sub-junior: grades 4-5, (b) Junior: grades 6-7 and (c) Senior: 8-9.
The Judges were Ms. Uma Oza, Ms. Shalvi Agarwal, Mr. Bijoy Shivram, Ms. Beena Handa, Mr. Sudhir Kulkarni, Dr. Nutan Kotak, Dr. Indira Nityanandam and Ms. Mana Yagnik.

Inter House English Declamation (V-VIII) - 2016

The English Declamation Competition was held on the 29th  of July, 2016. Young talents rose to the occasion as they delivered famous speeches by popular personalities. The students were judged on the following criteria: Memorization, selection, diction, eye contact, ability to hold attention, and overall effectiveness. The judges for the day were  Ms. Kavitha Rajesh and Ms. Neelam Rathi. Krushy Acharya and Nilay Shah bagged the 1st position in the sub-junior and the junior category respectively.

Inter House English Debate (IX-XII) - 2016

The Inter-House Debate (2016-17) was organised on 29th July 2016. The topic for the debate was: “Corruption, the abuse of public power for private gain cannot be eradicated.” The event was adjudicated by Mr T Thavamani, Mr Uday Tanna, and Ms Anu John.  The debate required the students to defend their stance in their talk and engage with the questions from fellow participants during the rebuttal. Each participant was judged on the content and delivery of their talk. Soham Nayak of A-level secured the 1st position.  Yashas Samtani of grade IX A (IGCSE) secured the second position.